Thread Theory

Welcome to the new era of menswear sewing. Go ahead and create something exceptional!

In the Wild: Cool Weather (Nicole’s Post)

Leave a comment

In the wild banner - smallYou won’t believe me after seeing this picture, but it has been wet, wet, wet and cold here for the last… three weeks? Let’s just say the weather is really challenging my car-free plans and that I frequently have to remind myself “There’s no such thing as bad weather, just inappropriate clothes.”. I’d love to show proof of the sideways rain I biked in today, but I didn’t think to stop and take a picture 🙂

pumpkin patch

Last Sunday, however, was gorgeous- a last chance to get to the Pumpkin Fest (Hay Rides! Popcorn! Hay Bale Maze! All the Classics!), mow the lawn (nope), plant bulbs (nope) and otherwise spend time soaking up Vitamin D. I am firmly under the impression that after this one gorgeous day, I won’t see the sun for six months. Someone please disabuse me of this notion.

Fortunately, I actually like inclement weather, especially wet because it means I can pull out my wooly sweaters, my multitude of Newcastle Cardigans, and all my fuzzy head and hand cozies. It looks like there are some readers out there who feel the same way!

First up is a classic Goldstream Peacoat, apparently made for a top secret spy-man (look at those shifty eyes peering over the collar!

collage goldstreamThis was made by Annie Laure who was kind enough to send some images. She used the french instruction, donc c’est bien special! Maybe I should do a whole post in french to celebrate- but though I am a fluent speaker of french, my french writing comes across like a four year old. Far too awkward to expose myself like that on a public forum.

We’ve had a couple lighter weight sweaters shared as well, like this great grey Newcastle by Emma. I love this fabric it looks so luxurious yet casual:

grey newcastle

Next is Matt’s Mom! She has a lovely new Finlayson to cozy up in during the storms we’re having. It looks almost like the fabric I used for mine!

matts momAnd speaking of women wearing patterns designed for men (glad to know I’m not the only one who’s used Thread Theory patterns as much for myself as for a man), here is a fantastic adaptation of a Strathcona Tee by Roni Arbel of Wardrobe Histology:

roni

I love the cuff bands, and the fact that it looks like it was photographed in a castle! I have an idea! What if you all sent pictures of Thread Theory projects in exotic locales? Then this would truly be: In. The. Wild!

What do you think? Leave a comment for me :)

